What is your time worth? Thinking out loud on pay | chriseyreteaching

A chance comment I read at the weekend referred to ‘the 1265 hours we are paid for’.  

(Yes, I realise it is not that straightforward. I would actually be unimpressed if my colleagues or the teachers at my children’s school insisted they were only going to do 1265 hours. – 32.5 hours for 39 weeks) 

But please indulge me whilst I go on a few thoughts. 

Firstly, teachers may in fact be working a lot more than 32.5 hours a week – 56 hours was the average in one recent survey, this would mean 2180 hours a year. (assuming they do absolutely no holiday work!) By the way, an average worker in…

Continue reading at:
http://ift.tt/2pwklCi

Leave a Reply

